Welcome to Matt’s Bible Blog!

Hello. My name’s Matt and I’m a blogger.

I’ve been writing the Geeks Shall Inherit The Earth blog for a good few years now, and it’s been a great experience. After all, blogging is one of the few hobbies where you can find yourself writing about comic books, politics, science, weird history, Doctor Who and folk songs about the irresistable march of technology. I like having a blog where I can talk about, well, pretty much anything.

But the time has come for me to try out a sister project, and that’s why I’m here. This is going to be a place for thoughts, musings, reflections and witterings about the Bible. I haven’t been to seminary or Bible college, so I’m not claiming too much in the way of authority-with-a-capital-A, but I hope this blog is useful, interesting, funny or all three. And if not, well, I hope it prompts discussion – feel free to add comments if the mood takes you.

When I first came up with this project, I was thinking of specifically looking at obscure bits of the Bible that don’t get a lot of airplay – that’s why it’s called The Left Hand of Ehud, and if you don’t know the source for that, well, come back soon because that’s going to be one of the first entries. However, after some thought and prayer, I realised that there’s still stuff to learn from the stories everyone knows. Who am I to say what’s obscure and what isn’t? If there’s one thing I’ve learned from my years in geekdom, it’s that there’s no such thing as too obscure, or too obvious – everyone’s starting from somewhere.

This isn’t going to be a blog that covers the scientific accuracy (or otherwise) of the Bible, or the reliability of the original documents. There are people qualified to have these debates, armed with degrees and stuff; for my part, I’m going to take the text as read. I’ll also mainly be using the NIV (but not exclusively) – I know that’s probably lost me a few readers already, and I’m sorry about that, but that’s how it is. The plan is to update every two or three days (although no promises there!), and to publish any comments (other than those that are trolling or failing to treat others with respect).

But enough of the housekeeping. Let’s get going…

3 thoughts on “Welcome to Matt’s Bible Blog!

  1. Well done Matt, nice start. I too have been blogging for a while at http://www.utterance.com.au – a WordPress blog but as of just recently, with my own domain name. I’ve thought of starting a ‘sister project’ as you call it and for a while ran auschristiannews.blogspot.com.au but in the long run found msyelf just blogging in the one spot. I’ll be interested to see how you go. Hey, maybe you could register thelefthandofehud.com – I doubt it’s taken! Anyway, I can only vague recall Ehud and his left hand so will check back for a refresher… Blessings

  2. Thanks for your comment – I’ll be checking out your blog! I have thought about getting my own domain name, but I’m waiting to see if the blog takes off at all… We’ll see! Thanks again for visiting, hope to see you here again.

  3. Pingback: Spirituality in the Anime Blogosphere: Spiritual Symphogear, Quon as Christ, and a Calvinist Otaku «

Leave a Reply

